Hard Decisions and the Clarity of Humility

An empty pot makes the loudest noise. -Swahili Proverb

To read this issue in your browser, click the link in the upper right corner.

Howdy to my 3,244 supporters! 👋🏻

Juggling lots of projects on the burners at the moment, doing my best to keep from burning the whole thing down. 😂 🫠 Been a crazy last two weeks of growth on LinkedIn and the I.D.E.A. newsletter.

I’m hopeful in one month (2 more newsletters) to transition this newsletter to a weekly cadence again. I’d love to prioritize all my attention on improving this to be the best visual newsletter I can make. There’s still growing pains doing all this stuff on my own (I’m still a full-time teacher and family man) but I know I’m not alone.

Thank you for all your supportive and encouraging emails, believing in my work, and joining me in this dance to live a more creative life.

Here's your weekly quick dose of I.D.E.A.'s!

💙💙💙
PJ

🤔 INTERESTING

Beware the path of least resistance.
Careful walking the fine line between thoughtful reflection and willful procrastination as the urgent often overshadows the important.
Read the full post here.

I had an interesting comment to this visual on LinkedIn. Specifically, that on the opposite side of “Pain” should be the word “Pleasure.” I respectfully disagreed. The absence of pain is not necessarily pleasure.

What do you think?

📐 DESIGN

This visual uses a “This to That” Framework. All that means is comparing this (fear in imagination) to that (fear in reality). It’s a simple but powerful device to help you frame something in context.

Couple this with one of my favorite creative levers to pull: exaggeration.

Exaggeration can help you interpret an idea specifically to your own point of view.

Be careful though. Exaggeration is a double-edged sword in visual thinking. An exaggerated analogy may have more difficulty getting your message across because a more literal audience might get stuck in saying, “It’s not really like that.”

🔮 ENCHANTING 

Name and recognize failures, but focus more on ingraining the lessons they teach you.

Let temporary setbacks wash away.

🧠 ANALOGY

An empty pot makes the loudest noise.
-Swahili Proverb

Say hi 👋🏻 on Twitter or LinkedIn

If you'd like to join the 3,244 subscribers getting I.D.E.A.s straight into their inbox, subscribe below:

Thanks for reading! Reply any time with feedback or questions.

I made this newsletter with beehiiv, the best place to start and scale a newsletter in 2023.

When you’re ready, I’m working on building a course to teach visual thinking: Join the Waiting List

Reply

or to participate.