Collecting Ideas vs. Creating Outcomes

The Collector Fallace: Believing that by collecting information, we somehow absorb it.

To read this issue in your browser, click in the upper right corner.

Howdy to my 1,575 supporters! 👋🏻

Happy February~!

An update of highlights from January:

  • Hit 10K milestone on Twitter

  • Hit 100K milestone on Instragram

  • My sister-in-law randomly forwarded to me Idris Elba shared my visual on his Instagram--I had confirm on his IG to double-check. How cool!

  • Hosted my first Twitter Space with 200 people attending on Sunday with my buddy Michael Boorman (@wisdommadeeasy). Join us if your schedule allows - Sundays 9am CST

And now here's your quick dose of I.D.E.A.'s! 4 visuals: 🤔 Interesting || 📐 Design || 🔮 Enchanting || 🧠 Analogy

If the spirit moves you, please feel free to forward along to friends! 😊💙💙💙,PJ

INTERESTING

This was the first Twitter thread I wrote the way I envisioned I would write: combining my visuals with writing to provide clear and concise value to readers. 

It was a proof of concept highlighting 3 important takeaways I got from Ship30. Hit me up with a reply to this email if you think I should write more of these.

DESIGN

The Unsuspecting Balloon Metaphor is a classic. The key to doing this one well is to reveal something the audience is not expecting that's a threat to what they want. Bonus points for specificity.Classic Example: Positive Desired Outcome: Ability to FocusNon-obvious Thread: A Single Notification

ENCHANTING 

Collecting Ideas vs. Creating OutcomesThere's a concept called the collector's fallacy:

  • Believing that by collecting information, we somehow absorb it.

  • It gives us a false sense of progress.

There's nothing wrong with reading for pleasure. But if you're reading to learn how to do something, there's no substitute for action. I hesitated putting my work online for years because I didn't know 'exactly' what I wanted to do.

Finally started posting in March '22 and things started happening. Real progress is made only through behavior and action.

ANALOGY

"Reading is essential for those who seek to rise above the ordinary."-Jim Rohn

More Visual Learning in Your Feeds

Thanks for Reading! 💙

If you found the insights helpful, consider sharing this issue with ONE other person who might also benefit from it by clicking on one of the icons at the top of this email.

Until next time! Stay Curious! 👋🏻-PJ Milani

If you'd like to join the 1,575 subscribers getting I.D.E.A.s straight into their inbox:

I made this newsletter using beehiiv

Join the conversation

or to participate.