Read More, Build Momentum

It's true that some skills are impossible to learn by reading alone...like riding a bike or swimming! But some skills are slow to learn by action alone.

Howdy to my 1042 supporters! ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป

Thank you to everyone who responded to the survey last week!

I heard you and will be working on reshaping the newsletter based on your feedback.ย What I gathered most clearly was:

  • a preference for a more bite-sized approach to the content

  • an overwhelmingly positive response for a short Design lesson

Hope you enjoy these subtle changes to this issue of I.D.E.A.'s! Shoot me a reply and let me know what you think. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™,PJ

INTERESTING

A simple quote from Naval Ravikant, but one of my favorites. โ€ข This inspired a lot of interesting comments, especially on IG.โ€ข Most mentioned answers: gym, reading, and teaching!

Artist's Note:ย When you create visuals, everything and anything can be a source of inspiration. I came up with this idea playing with a PJ (๐Ÿฅ) Mask toy at the house. ๐Ÿ˜‚ The light blue cage is part of the Headquarter set!ย 

DESIGN

Shoot me a reply with design/drawing questions and I'll add it to the list.

ENCHANTINGย 

I can't go to the library without checking out at least half the library so I wanted to celebrate the power of reading with this visual.It's true that some skills are impossible to learn by reading alone...like riding a bike or swimming!ย 

But some skills are slow to learn by action alone.

You don't know what you don't know so read more!

Artist's Note:ย Design is all about problem solving.

If you look at the original post on Twitter, it reads:"READ MORE BOOKS TO GROW" (if read top => bottom) but some people read it as:"GROW TO BOOKS MORE READ" (bottom => top). ๐Ÿ˜…

Why?

The problem is with the visual design ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿป

Solution?

Iterate. Come up with 5 words that make sense read forward AND backward:"Step By Step, More Reading," which can also be read:"Reading More, Step by Step."

Not perfect, but better! ๐Ÿ’ช

Analogy

My depiction of the "flow state."Artist's Note: I was playing with my kids, showing them the slinky-stair trick when this idea came to me. This is the 2nd iteration. You can see the first on my IG.

If you want to make your own visuals, give yourself permission to be imperfect. Know you can make it better with v.2, v.3, and so on till you get the idea right.

Get visual learning in your feeds

If you find value in the visuals I create, follow me on Twitter, Instagram, and LinkedIn.ย 

โ€ขย Click here and follow me on Twitterย : Most up-to-date place my visuals go.โ€ขย Click here and follow me on Instagramย : Collect all my visuals in one place.โ€ขย Click here and follow me on LinkedInย : Visuals + Insights/Deep-Dives.

Thanks for Reading! ๐Ÿ’™

If something in this email resonated with you, or you found the insights in here helpful, please consider sharing this issue with your audience by clicking on one of the icons at the top of this email.

Until next time!Stay Curious! ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿป-PJ Milani

Join the conversation

or to participate.