Mental Models and Setting a Priority

I've been thinking a lot about the word "priority" lately. In McKeown's book, he talks about how the word priority initially meant "one thing." The idea of multiple priorities is a modern dilemma.

To read this issue in your browser, click in the upper right corner.

Howdy to my 1,846 supporters! 👋🏻Here's your weekly quick dose of I.D.E.A.'s!

If the spirit moves you, please feel free to forward along to friends! 😊💙💙💙,PJ

🤔 INTERESTING

I've been diving more into visualizing mental models as they apply to visual thinking (also applies in writing).

Here's how to use Occam's Razor.

• Choose the simplest explanation• Remove distracting details• Keep only the essential

Why use it?• Increases clarity• Amplifies your message• Simplifies your approach

📐 DESIGN

This is one framework I use myself pretty regularly. It's a template communicating a comparison in quantity, similar to a pie chart.

Important note: As with any visual, the most important thing is to communicate the difference and not the exact numbers. In my work, I focus on communicating the spirit of the idea. I am not so much creating a data visualization.

Here's an example of it in action:

🔮 ENCHANTING 

Being a parent is not easy. In the same breath you can be fed up with frustration and filled up with love. But one of my most treasured and surreal memories of fatherhood was teaching my son to ride a bicycle. I get emotional just thinking about it.

🧠 ANALOGY

If you don't prioritize your life someone else will.- Gregory McKeown, author of EssentialismI've been thinking a lot about the word "priority" lately. In McKeown's book, he talks about how the word priority initially meant "one thing." The idea of multiple priorities is a modern dilemma.

I haven't landed on what my singular priority is yet, but it's something I'm working through. Coming to grips with not being able to do everything is tough, but I believe it might help me feel a bit less overwhelmed.

What about you? What are you prioritizing in this season of life? Please feel free to reply in this email (I read every one).

More Visual Learning in Your Feeds

  • 🐦 Twitter : Most up-to-date place my visuals go.

  • 📷 Instagram : All my visuals in one place.

  • 🔗 LinkedIn : Visuals + Deep-Dives

Thanks for Reading! 💙

I'd love to hear from you if you have:

  • feedback

  • questions for me

  • insights to offer

Simply reply to this email. I read every one.

Until next time! Stay Curious! 👋🏻-PJ Milani

If you'd like to join the 1,846 subscribers getting I.D.E.A.s straight into their inbox, subscribe below:

I made this newsletter using beehiiv.

Reply

or to participate.