Telephoto Thinking vs Wide-Angle Thinking

The thing about telephoto lenses is that they're extremely difficult to focus unless you place them on a stable footing.

To read this issue in your browser, click in the upper right corner.

Howdy to my 1,968 supporters! 👋🏻

Updates:

  • Had some noteworthy moments these last 2 weeks in a couple collaboration posts with Greg McKeown and Adam Grant! Very exciting and energizing as they're two authors who's thinking I admire. 

  • Working with Maven to launch a long overdue first course on visual thinking called The Visual Thinking Toolbox. Still working on the name. 🤓 Be the first to hear when enrollment opens by clicking here.

And now here's your weekly quick dose of I.D.E.A.'s!

🤔 INTERESTING

Which are you--a telephoto or wide-angle lens thinker?

Most people want to be both (variable lens) but if forced to choose, I'd say most starting online content creators lean toward generalists.

The thing about telephoto lenses is that they're extremely difficult to focus unless you place them on a stable footing. This feels in line with how most creatives feel when they're told to niche down and specialize if they want to develop an identity to be recognized online. 

📐 DESIGN

"It gets easier" Design.

The goal of this design is to change the perception of what seems impossible at first. Essentially create progressively smaller versions of a symbol representing what you want to convey getting easier over time. 

🔮 ENCHANTING 

"You can do anything, but not everything."-Greg McKeown

A reminder I got tired of having to tell myself so I illustrated the message hoping it will stick! 😁

🧠 ANALOGY

Unfortunately, getting older means also feeling the inevitable loss of the people we love most. And each time feels like the first.

In these moments, I find myself feeling tremendous guilt and shame. Guilt if I try to live a life without them and shame I didn't do more when they were alive. 

There's a beautiful TED talk I was reminded of recently off a grief post from Michael J. Boorman (@wisdommadeeasy) that we don't ever really move on from grief. We move forward with it.

A quote I think about that helps me move forward with grief:

"What is grief if not love persevering?"

Vision, "WandaVision"

More Visual Learning in Your Feeds

  • 🐦 Twitter : Most up-to-date place my visuals go.

  • 📷 Instagram : All my visuals in one place.

  • 🔗 LinkedIn : Visuals + Deep-Dives

Thanks for Reading! 💙

I'd love to hear from you if you:

  • have feedback

  • questions for me

  • insights to offer

Simply reply to this email. I read every one.

Until next time! Stay Curious! 👋🏻-PJ Milani

If you'd like to join the 1,968 subscribers getting I.D.E.A.s straight into their inbox, subscribe below:

I made this newsletter using beehiiv